piña colada cupcakes

Today is my family’s annual luau party and I knew I wanted to bake fun cupcakes. I came across this recipe for piña colada cupcakes on Pinterest and was excited to try them out. I did make some modifications though…

Here are the ingredients I needed to make both the cupcakes and the pineapple frosting. I did take a shortcut and use a vanilla cake mix for the cupcakes to save some time (and mess!) in the kitchen:

Then I began baking the cupcakes:

1. I lined my cupcakes pans so they were ready to go when the batter was mixed.

2. I mixed everything up following the instructions on the box.

3. Filled all the liners and waiting for them to bake (about 23 minutes).

4. Let them cool and began working on the frosting.

The frosting isn’t the healthiest (made with two packages of cream cheese and three sticks of butter!) and needed about 4 minutes of mixing to combine the ingredients before I added the powdered sugar and pineapple.

Then I began to frost the cupcakes:

After I frosted the cupcakes, I added shredded sweetened coconut to the tops of each one:

Next I cut up some pineapple rings that would become garnish on top of each along with a cherry:

Lastly, I topped all of the cupcakes with my fruit topping and used toothpicks to hold it all together:

And that is how the piña colada cupcakes turned out! I made Nick do a taste test for me (not that he minded) and he loved them. I am sure they will be a hit on this hot summer day at the luau party.

Have you ever tried a fun spin on traditional cupcakes? What did you make?

One comment

  1. lisajlukowski

    I’ve never tried a fun spin on cupcakes but I have made Jello cookies! I still need to write up a post on that experience – it made such a mess in the kitchen and had a lot of clean-up required, but I got lots of good feedback on the cookies themselves,

Leave a Reply

