the fourth

This past fourth of July, we decided to invite our friends over for a pool party at our house.  It was going to be a casual party, but I knew I wanted to do a few things to decorate and create a theme for the day.  Naturally, I went with a nautical theme and it was super cute and easy! Here are some of the things I did to embrace my theme:

I made cupcakes and thought that sailing flags would make a cute touch. I was able to do a search for “sailing flags” and find some images that I printed and then wove through some toothpicks:

Next I decided to make some beach ball signs that said “dive in” to place in the different dips and appetizers.  It was really simple to do and it made a big difference when everything was set up. You can see it here in the marshmallows of my “smore station” (which was a hit when we had our bonfire!):

I also made navy and white striped place cards that had creative names for the different treats. Here you can see the “catch of the day” (goldfish crackers):

One treat too cute not to share, was the “shark attack” fruit salad that our friends Lon and Paula brought. It was a perfect addition to the party theme:

Last I decided to make a banner of sailing flags to hang over all of the treats.  It was really simple to make and tied the look together:

Of course we were sure to carry the theme outside and added these little guys to our bar area that is on our deck:

So there you have it – our pool party with a few cute nautical touches. It was a fun way to add a little flair to the day and a theme I am sure we will use again.  Have you tied a simple theme into a get together recently? What was it?

Leave a Reply

